First Look: Unreal Engine 4

Unreal_Office_04

Following Epic’s announcement that Unreal Engine 4 earlier this month I finally got chance to lock myself away for a few hours and have a look. If you are coming to Unreal Engine from Unity like me Epic have provided a useful guide Unreal Engine 4 for Unity Developers. I also found their video tutorials for Level Editing really useful. Following the tutorials I was quickly able to create an office scene using basic geometry and the Unreal Starter Content. After modifying the scene to include an extra office I added the garden with a patio, plants and rocks. As with Unity, adding a first person controller was a simple matter of dragging and dropping.

Unreal_Office_01

The wall lights were easy to set up and had a nice glow. I also included the overhead lights from the Starter Content but found they were a little distracting. Despite emitting the same colour as the wall lights their orange lampshades seemed to be overly reflective. Generally the lights could be a little dimmer in my scene but this can easily be changed.

Unreal_Office_03

What really made the scene for me were the real-time shadows and reflections. After positioning the external directional light to shine into the office four reflection probes were added to the scene. As a result the marble and wooden floors look fantastic. I was expecting a lot here and Unreal Engine really impressed me.

Unreal_Office_02

Another feature I was keen to try was Unreal’s visual scripting system Blueprint. As visual scripting isn’t included in Unity I wasn’t sure what to expect. After following the Blueprint tutorials I found it really useful for quickly creating simple interactions such as opening and closing the sliding doors of the offices and the rotating door to the garden based on the proximity of the player. Being quite process orientated I found visual scripting really intuitive. However, Blueprint also seemed a little quirky when trying more complex tasks. There is obviously much more to learn here but it has definitely encouraged me to consider seeking out something similar for Unity.

Unreal_Office_07

The buildings outside of the office were simple textured boxes that I created quickly in SketchUp and exported via FBX. On first import I experienced a few issues with missing geometry and collision. These issues appeared to be resolved by ensuring to explode any grouped geometry in the models prior to export from SketchUp. Whether this is best practice going forward I’ve not yet determined.

Unreal_Office_05

In summary my first look at Unreal Engine 4 was really encouraging and I look forward to working with it more. I did find the editor quite demanding on my current laptop’s system resources. I also wasn’t sure how to optimise my scenes fully and this will take further investigation. With a number of projects coming up I’ll be sticking with Unity for the time being. However, it was very easy to see why Unreal Engine would be such a popular choice for real-time architectural visualisation. Can’t wait to do something with Unreal and the Oculus Rift!

2 thoughts on “First Look: Unreal Engine 4

    1. Virtual Architectures Post author

      Hi Jeff!

      Thanks for the comment. I didn’t benchmark it but I found that running the game in the Unreal editor caused lag that I’m not used to from working with Unity. In their FAQ Epic recommend that PC developers use a desktop machine with Windows 7 64-bit, 8 GB RAM, a quad-core Intel or AMD processor running at 2.5 GHz, and a DX11 compatible video card. My current laptop has an i7-3537u processor which is only dual core and runs at just 2.0 GHz. The NVIDIA GeForce GT 720M video card is DX11 compatible but could be better. Although I have 12 GB RAM that doesn’t fully compensate for the lack of processing power, so I’m pushing my luck a bit. As such I can’t really blame UE4 if performance dips on my machine. I’ll definitely be looking for opportunities work with it in the future.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

